Prof. Dr. Alfred Leitenstorfer

Contact information
Phone: +49 7531 88-3818
Post office box: 695
Room: P 809
Fax: +49 7531 88-3072
Scientific career

2011:                      Call for Directorship at Max Planck Institute for Microstructure Physics in Halle/Saale (pending)

since 2004:             Director, Konstanz Center for Applied Photonics (CAP)

since 2003:             Full Professor of Experimental Physics at University of Konstanz

2001 - 2002:          Professor for Optoelectronics (non-tenured) at Faculty of Physics, Ludwig Maximilians University Munich (LMU)

1999 - 2000:          Scientific Assistant and Habilitation degree in Experimental Physics, Technical University of Munich (TUM)

1997 - 1998:          Postdoctoral Member of Technical Staff at Advanced Photonics Research Department (Dr. Wayne H. Knox, Dr. Martin C. Nuss, Dr. Jagdeep Shah), Bell Laboratories, Holmdel (USA)

1994 - 1996:          PhD thesis at Chair of Experimental Physics E11 of TUM (Prof. Alfred Laubereau), promoted to degree of Dr. rer. nat. ("summa cum laude")

1993:                      Diploma thesis at Physics Department of TUM (Prof. Wolfgang Kaiser), degree of Diplom-Physiker ("with distinction")

Institution Responsibility
AG Leitenstorfer (Experimentalphysik mit SP Ultrakurzzeitphysik und Quantenoptik) Professor
Center for Applied Photonics Director of the Institute
Type Institution
Membership 2013: Program Co-chair, International Conference on Quantum Electronics and Laser Science, CLEO: QELS - Fundamental Science
Membership 2012: Chair, Gordon Research Conference on "Ultrafast Phenomena in Cooperative Systems"
Membership 2011 and 2012: Chair, Subcommittee on "Optical Interactions with Condensed Matter and Ultrafast Phenomena", International Conference on Quantum Electronics and Laser Science (CLEO/QELS)
Membership since 2011: Laser Advisory Committee, DESY and European XFEL
Membership since 2011: Award Committee, Gustav Hertz Award, German Physical Society
Membership since 2010: Award Committee, Nick Holonyak, Jr. Award, Optical Society of America
Publication list
There was an error during trying to get the publication list. Please try again or inform the admin if it fails again.
Title Responsibility Period
CAP 03 Übergangsfinanzierung Project head 01.11.2017 – 31.12.2018
CAP 18 NN Dekorsy Project head 01.11.2017 – 31.12.2018
SFB 767 - TP B08 "Electron transport in nanostructures controlled by phase-locked single-cycle light pulses" Project head 01.01.2016 – 31.12.2019
Nachwuchsprogramm zur Förderung von Doktorandinnen/Doktoranden Project head 01.07.2014 – 31.12.2016
CAP Project head 01.08.2013 – 30.09.2017
Ultrafast Quantum Physics in Amplitude and Phase - UltraPhase, ERC Advanced Grant Project head 01.01.2012 – 31.12.2016
Tailoring light matter coupling for ultrafast quantum optics with deafect centers in diamond (TP 5 ) Project head 18.04.2011 – 17.04.2014
Faserlaser für CARS-Mikroskopie Project head 01.07.2010 – 30.06.2012
Aufbau eines passiv phasenstabilen optischen Frequenzkammsystems basierend auf Femtosekunden-Faserlasern Project head 01.06.2010 – 31.05.2013
Phasenstarre optische Frequenzkammsysteme basierend auf Femtosekundenlaser Project head 01.04.2010 – 31.03.2013
UltraQuantum Project head 15.01.2010 – 31.10.2012
Femtosecond quantum optics with semiconductor-metal hybrid nanostructures Project head 01.07.2009 – 31.12.2012
Diamant-Nanophotonik Project head 01.01.2009 – 31.12.2011
Forschungsstrukturkonzept CAP Project head 01.09.2008 – 31.08.2012
SFB 767 - TP B02: Ultraschnelle Quantenkontrolle einzelner Elektronen und Photonen in mesoskopischen Systemen Project head 01.01.2008 – 31.12.2019
SFB 767 - TP B05 "Terahertz quantum optics with semiconductor nanostructures" Project head 01.01.2008 – 31.12.2011
Kooperationsvertrag zur Erstellung eines Kurzpulslasers für die nichtlineare Bildgebung Project head 13.12.2007 – 15.09.2008
Research intentions
Title Responsibility Period
Forschungsgroßgeräte: Messsystem für Femtosekunden Präzisionsmikroskopie Employee no information
  • (2013) - Fellow of the Optical Society
  • (2011) - ERC Advanced Investgator Grant
  • (2010) - Ludwig-Genzel-Preis
  • (2000) - Arnold Sommerfeld Prize
  • (2000) - Rudolf Kaiser Prize
  • (1997) - Stipend of Japanese Ministry of International Trade and Industry